WH 2015 Cartoon




The White Horse Award is presented annually at Race Track Chaplaincy of America’s (RTCA) White Horse Award Luncheon to an individual who has done something heroic on behalf of human or horse. It is our way of recognizing those unsung heroes of horse racing, whether their actions are of a headline-grabbing, or the quiet and not-so-obvious, kind of heroism.

Established in 2003, it is presented at the Annual White Horse Awards Luncheon, held the day before Breeders’ Cup weekend at whichever racetrack has been selected to host The Breeders’ Cup World Championships. Other awards presented at the White Horse Award Luncheon include the Tribute of Excellence and Community Service Awards.

2015 White Horse Awards Recipients are…

2015 Tribute of Excellence Award Recipient is…

2015 Community Service Award Recipient is…

Criteria for each award:

Elliott Walden - 2015 WH Speaker

Elliott Walden

This year’s 13th Annual White Horse Awards will take place on Thursday, October 29, 2015 in Lexington, KY at The Campbell House. The keynote speaker is Elliott Walden, CEO & President of WinStar Farm.

Elliott is a third generation horseman and has been involved with WinStar Farm since 2005. In November of 2010 he was promoted to CEO and President. WinStar Farm is a faithful supporter of Race Track Chaplaincy of America and Elliott personally volunteers with the organization as well. He currently serves as the President of the Board for the Race Track Chaplaincy of America New York Division. Read more about Elliott here.

This event is an opportunity to lift up the Lord Jesus Christ and recognize heroism, service, and sacrifice on behalf of humans and horses. Each year recipients are selected for three awards; the namesake award, “The White Horse Award”, “The Tribute of Excellence Award” and “The Community Service Award.” Some of the event’s past speakers include; Dean Reeves of Reeves Thoroughbred Racing, Barry Irwin of Team Valor International, and Bill Casner, Owner of Well Armed – Winner of the 2009 Dubai World Cup.

Ed Bowen - Master of Ceremonies 2016

Ed Bowen

This year’s Master of Ceremonies is Ed Bowen, President of Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation.

In addition to honoring this year’s award recipients the event will feature a live and silent auction as well as music by the inspirational country Branded - 2015 Musiciansduo, Branded. The luncheon will be an opportunity to witness how the Lord is present in the horse racing world through the individuals that will be honored. Keynote speaker, Elliott Walden, will also share how the Lord has shepherded his life and successes throughout his journey in the industry. As the plaque in the WinStar Farm perfectly declares, “The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but the victory belongs to the Lord.” Proverbs 21:31.

Click HERE for additional registration information.  The 2015 Award Recipients will be announced in September 2015. We hope you’ll join us for this uplifting and inspiring luncheon.


DA3-04-1Kentucky Race Track Chaplaincy logo    Winstar      




OTPLogoAES2015                                                                      Brook Ledge Logo






Click here to view photos from past White Horse Award Luncheons




Honor Roll of White Horse Heroes
2003 Leigh Gray, Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA
2004 John Woodley, Fairmont Park, Collinsville, IL
2005 Louis Pomes, Bernard Parish, LA
2006 Clinton Beck, Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, MD
2007 Johnny Arrendondo Ponce, Oceanside, CA
2008 Todd Malley, Larry Higgs, Beau Smith, and Jason Inabinnett, Vinton, LA
2009 Steve Hiatt, San Pablo, CA
2010 Daniel Orantes, Churchill Downs, Louisville, KY
2011 Jeremy Best, Remington Park, Oklahoma City, OK
2012 The Late Michael Collier Priddy, Remington Park, Oklahoma City, OK (02/04/88 – 03/04/12)
2013 Dr. Michael Mason, DVM,  Emerald Downs, Auburn, WA
2014 Rodolfo Arvizu, Turf Paradise, Phoenix, AZ

Community Service Award Recipients
2005 Curtis Sliwa, Brooklyn, NY
2006 Bryan Jared, Jon Sallee, and James Maupin, Lexington, KY
2008 Fred Stone, Agoura Hills, CA
2009 John Harris, Coalinga, CA
2010 The Late Bill Howard, Louisville, KY
2011 National Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Association, Lexington, KY
2012 Chaplain Israel “Izzy” Vega, West Covina, CA
2013 Marylou Whitney & John Hendrickson, Saratoga Springs, NY
2014 Chaplain Dr. Rev. Nicholas Salios, Norristown, PA

Tribute to Excellence (a posthumous honor)
2010 The Late Dick Broadbent, Lexington, KY
2011 The Late Chick Lang, Easton, MD
2012 The Late Norma Stone (04/06/31 – 10/22/11)
2013 The Late Charles Whittingham, San Macros, CA
2014 The Late Jeffrey Coady, Luling, TX

Special Tribute
2012 John Shear, Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA