“Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” John 15:13 (NIV)
For many people in the horse world, acts of selflessness and bravery are “just another day at work,” but RTCA wishes to recognize these heroic acts of love. It was in this spirit that the WHITE HORSE AWARD was created.

2016 White Horse Awards: Arcadia, CA

2016 Honorees

Tribute to Excellence Award

E.W. “Buddy” Johnston – Old English Rancho

Community Service Award

William Gotwals – Brookledge Horse Transportation

White Horse Award
Bob Hubbard Horse Transportation – Colton, CA
KC Horse Transport – Atascadero, CA


Embassy Suites – Arcadia


2016 Sponsors



Brook Ledge Logo



2016 Media Partners


TDN logo-no words bloodhorse pr-logo-fullmain-logo_rev-1-27-14_home


2015 White Horse Awards Recipients

2015 Tribute to Excellence Award Recipient is…

2015 Community Service Award Recipient is…

2015 White Horse Award Recipient is…

Criteria for each award:


Click here to view photos from past White Horse Award Luncheons


Honor Roll of White Horse Heroes
2003 Leigh Gray, Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA
2004 John Woodley, Fairmont Park, Collinsville, IL
2005 Louis Pomes, Bernard Parish, LA
2006 Clinton Beck, Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, MD
2007 Johnny Arrendondo Ponce, Oceanside, CA
2008 Todd Malley, Larry Higgs, Beau Smith, and Jason Inabinnett, Vinton, LA
2009 Steve Hiatt, San Pablo, CA
2010 Daniel Orantes, Churchill Downs, Louisville, KY
2011 Jeremy Best, Remington Park, Oklahoma City, OK
2012 The Late Michael Collier Priddy, Remington Park, Oklahoma City, OK (02/04/88 – 03/04/12)
2013 Dr. Michael Mason, DVM,  Emerald Downs, Auburn, WA
2014 Rodolfo Arvizu, Turf Paradise, Phoenix, AZ

2015 Eric Najduch, Los Alamitos, CA

Community Service Award Recipients
2005 Curtis Sliwa, Brooklyn, NY
2006 Bryan Jared, Jon Sallee, and James Maupin, Lexington, KY
2008 Fred Stone, Agoura Hills, CA
2009 John Harris, Coalinga, CA
2010 The Late Bill Howard, Louisville, KY
2011 National Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Association, Lexington, KY
2012 Chaplain Israel “Izzy” Vega, West Covina, CA
2013 Marylou Whitney & John Hendrickson, Saratoga Springs, NY
2014 Chaplain Dr. Rev. Nicholas Salios, Norristown, PA

2015 Robert Clark, Georgetown, KY

Tribute to Excellence (a posthumous honor)
2010 Dick Broadbent, Lexington, KY (1937 – 2010)
2011 Chick Lang, Easton, MD (1926 – 2010))
2012 Norma Stone (1931 – 2011)
2013 Charles Whittingham, San Macros, CA (1913 – 1999)
2014 Jeffrey Coady, Luling, TX (1951 – 2013)

2015 Patsy Payne, Oklahoma City, OK (1940 – 2015)

H.W. “Salty” Roberts Founder’s Award
2015 Ted Bassett, Midway, KY

Special Tribute
2012 John Shear, Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA